Who is to Blame in This Ugly Situation?

Forum 8 years ago

Who is to Blame in This Ugly Situation?

I need the opinion of objective and logical readers on this.

I was a Pre-K teacher a couple of years ago, actually my first job when I got to the US.
I had this kid that was something else anything he saw his mom.
In short, he clung to her, stuck to her like his life depended on her.
[ads4]
A few minutes after she manages to slip away, he calms down and settles in with the other kids, but believe me, if the mom comes to the school under any guise and he saw her again, this kid would go through the same process.

On this day, we had one of those programs that parents came to the class for. One would think this woman that knows her kid like the back of her hand would stay away.

She didn't, and it was an ordeal we all went through that day. At some point we suggested she should just take him along with her, which she refused to do, but did say, if he did not calm down, we should please call her and she would come take him!!!!
Yeah, "I don't get that too."

Anyway, guess what I did, thinking I was the smartest being in the whole school, I LIED TO THE BOY, I told him that his mother only went to the bathroom and would be out to join him soon. Of course, like I said earlier, once he no longer sees her, he forgets her, drops all the tantrums and settles in.

I was proud of myself and thought I had preformed a miracle.

So when mom got back after school to pick him up, she asked how we were able to calm him down, because she said she was just so sure we were going to have to call her back to pick him!!!!
I told her what I did.
If I may add, proudly.
Wahala!!!