Reasons behind my semi-nude ‘no bra day’ photos —Dimplez

Forum 8 years ago

Reasons behind my semi-nude ‘no bra day’ photos —Dimplez

Seun Akinnuga, a.k.a Dimplez, took the social media and indeed the entertainment world by storm when she released some tantalizing semi-nude photos to celebrate the ‘no bra day’ which held a couple of months ago. She set a whirlpool of responses, which according to her, took no skin off her teeth, but gave her two latest singles; “Auto Mechanic” and “Kowole” some wings to fly. Hear her as she gets more personal as our Showtime Celebrity.

Unveiling Dimplez I am Oluwaseun Akinnuga from Ogun state. I am called Dimplez because whenever I smile, my dimples come out. I have been doing music for two years. It all started from the church. I attended a Bible school for a month and at the end of the training, I sang a special song. The pastor and some of the choristers told me I have a good voice after listening to my song. I was asked to join the choir. I started with gospel music, but I had to make a switch.

From gospel to secular music

I stopped doing gospel music because I wasn’t able to express myself. Secular music would give me the platform to be able to express myself better. Now, I sing realistic songs, songs people can relate with easily.

Handling criticism

It took a while for even my parents to support me. I was criticised for leaving gospel music for secular. When I was doing gospel music, the support was there. There was a particular event I attended and I wasn’t given the opportunity to perform because I was a gospel artiste. Other secular artistes performed but I didn’t perform despite the fact my birthday was on that day.
Comparing gospel to secular music
Secular music is the thing for me. Gospel music isn’t bad too but most gospel artistes don’t practice what they sing, so what’s the use?”

Inspiration behind her single ‘Auto Mechanic’