We were physically harassed, it was like war — Foluke Osafile, LP Lagos Assembly member-elect

Forum 1 year ago

We were physically harassed, it was like war — Foluke Osafile, LP Lagos Assembly member-elect

Mrs. Foluke Osafile is Labour Party, LP, member-elect, Amuwo Odofin Constituency 1 in Lagos State House of Assembly. In this interview, she shares her experience in the fierce contest, disclosing the challenging path to victory.

Is this your first time in politics?

Yes, this is my first time in partisan politics. For non-partisan politics, I was just a party member at the ward level. I have been a member of Labour Party,LP, for quite a while.

My ideology has always been in synchronisation with that of the LP. You know the party isn’t new as we were there for eight years in Ondo State.

Did you face any challenges trying to get the party ticket?

Yes, it was hurdle number one. I surmounted it with prayers and engagements. I was also able to sell my idea and my personality to the people. And it did the job.

What inspired your interest in contesting?

Before now, It had been selfless service in the church environment. With this movement, I thought it wise to do something similar on a larger scale.

I did not want to restrict my service to the church environment. I felt it was the right time to let it go beyond my church to my community, which is selfless service to humanity in general.

What informed your choice of platform?

It has to do with the social democratic mantra of the LP. It is a platform for those with social democratic ideas. It was initially known as a social party before we metamorphosed into LP. The content and the opportunity given to women encouraged me to pitch my tenth with the LP.

Unlike the other parties, there is adequate consideration for women. I did not make my choice based on the buzz around the LP.