Obaseki declared winner of Edo election

2 months ago

The Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh has announced the final result of the Edo state gubernatorial election.


He said APC polled 223,619 votes, while PDP got 307,955 votes.

He declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Godwin Obaseki, winner of the election.

Obaseki defeated his closest Challenger, Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress with a sizeable margin.

Although 17 political parties fielded candidates for the election, it is a two-way race between All Progressives Congress and PDP.

Obaseki was elected on APC’s platform in 2016 but defected to the PDP after being denied the ticket owing to intra-party squabbles.

Related Forums

18 prisoners who escaped from Edo correctional facility rearrested

4 days ago

Man who trekked to celebrate Buhari's win in 2015 presidential election gets a car and N2m after crying out for help

6 days ago

Donald Trump continues to insist the US election was 'rigged'

1 week ago

Ini Edo Flaunts Her Curves In Latest Post On Social Media

1 week ago