I Don't Have Close Friends In Nollywood - Omotola Jalade Speaks Out

Forum 8 years ago

I Don't Have Close Friends In Nollywood - Omotola Jalade Speaks Out

Many movie fans might be shocked to learn that, although she is quite popular among her colleagues, star actress Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde has no friend in Nollywood. The actress revealed this much about her relationship with her fellow thespians in a new interview with entertainment reporter Chux Ohai. She said:

“I don’t have close friends in Nollywood. Everybody is my colleague. Maybe it is because I live very far way from so many people in the industry. Secondly, I’m not very good at visiting people. I don’t have that kind of luxury.

Omotola also counted herself as fortunate to have been married at a young age. And with a hint of sympathy for upwardly mobile Nigerian women who are still unable to walk down the aisle, especially some of her fellow female artistes, explained the reason why they are finding it difficult to get married.

“If I hadn’t been married earlier, I probably would not be by now. I don’t know if any other man would have been able to handle me the way my husband has done. It is not because I am a bad person. I am actually a very strong woman.

“At a point, you might become so confused and wonder if any man will ever love you for who you are. But, if you are not a very grounded person, you too can contribute to your own problems. I consider myself to be lucky to remain married.”

Asked if she had ever considered the fact that her daughter, who is now 18, could get married any time and she would end up becoming a grandmother before her 40th birthday, Omotola replied,