I’m Married To My Music - Jesse Jagz

Forum 9 years ago

I’m Married To My Music - Jesse Jagz

Artiste and producer Jesse Abaga, popularly known as Jesse Jagz, can best be described as one of Nigeria’s most diverse artistes. In this interview with Aderigbe Tolulope, ‘the Wetin Dey’ crooner talks about his latest album, Jagz Nation Vol 2, his opinion about the “baby-mama” phenomenon and politics.

Who is Jesse Abaga?
I am a musician, an artiste; music is an expression of me. Be it pop, reggae, hip hop or even afro, I have always broken sound boundaries with my music and brand.

How has your latest album, “Jagz Nation Vol. 2: Royal Niger Company” been faring?
It is doing great even though it wasn’t a big budget project; and it was released while I was idle. It’s not even been a year since it was released, so I’m still promoting and exploiting it.

How did your stage name, “Jesse Jagz” come about?
One day, a friend of mine called me “Jesse Jagz” and it just stuck since then. It started as a nickname and then I started using it as a brand name.

Is it true that you and your brother, MI fell out because of your decision to leave Chocolate City?
We were never beefing. That’s my brother and friend; same thing with Ice Prince. Audu Maikori is my uncle. We’ve always been comfortable with agreeing to disagree. They are my family.

Does your label, Jagz Nation still exist?
Jagz Nation will always exist. Long after I’m gone, it will continue to expand. I’m working on making that my empire. Been working and talking with some artistes so in no time, you’ll hear good things.

What is the inspiration behind your singles “Redemption” and “Sunshine”?
Redemption is a socially conscious song that addresses political problems. Sunshine was just a Lagos feel good song. I sampled the legend, Fela on that; it’s one of my favourites too.

How would you describe your music?